Received this e-mail today and felt I should share it with all of you:
Subject: E-Card Scam and Warning
FYI, Just In Time For The Holidays: Those cute little electronic greeting cards you occasionally get from friends may be a real problem. The ones I'm speaking of are those where there's a link that says "[Some Name] has sent you a greeting card. Go here to get your greeting card".
There's a new card company called "FriendGreetings.com". When you get a card notification from them and click on the link, it will take you to their site. You will be notified that you have to install an ActiveX control in order to view the card. When you begin to install, the first thing that pops up is what is known as a "EULA" (End User License Agreement). It is very long, and you will not read it. They're counting on that. When you scroll to the bottom of it and click "Accept," you have agreed to the terms of the EULA.
Part of what you will have agreed to is to have monitoring/spyware software installed on your computer which will periodically report a vast array of data back to the card company. The other part that you've agreed to is to have the software send mail to EVERY SINGLE ADDRESS IN YOUR ADDRESS BOOK.
In short, you've voluntarily agreed to install a virus-type product on your machine. This is not a good thing.
See: http://news.zdnet.co.uk/story/0,,t269-s2124528,00.html for details.
Since there is no virus in the email, and since you're VOLUNTARILY agreeing to install the ActiveX component, VIRUS CHECKERS WILL NOT CATCH THIS.
Just a reminder: DO NOT OPEN EMAIL ATTACHMENTS when you are not expecting them, and DO NOT RUN ANYTHING FROM THE INTERNET WHICH REQUIRES A EULA AGREEMENT.
How it changed my life:Disappointing that fraud appears daily online. RAT
You can join Unsolved Mysteries and post your own mysteries or interesting stories for the world to read and respond to Click hereScroll all the way down to read replies.Show all stories by Author: 54247 ( Click here )
Spring is coming |